Are we there yet? - Reisverslag uit Chiang Mai, Thailand van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu Are we there yet? - Reisverslag uit Chiang Mai, Thailand van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu

Are we there yet?

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robin

27 Juni 2016 | Thailand, Chiang Mai

Thailand never fails to entertain ... beautiful nature, nice people, enough culture to last a lifetime... you name it, they have it.

This week my weekend was extra long ( I was free monday due to a buddhist holiday) so I had a lot of free time on my hands.

I started my weekend with a hike to the top of Doi Suthep, the hike took about 2,5 hours and was very challenging. Not only was it incredibly steep, it was also quite slippery in certain places and that combination made us occasionaly slide down quite, making us redo the last part of the hike.
Eventually we made it to the top though, which was well worth it.

By the time I got back to our house it was around 2 in the afternoon and I felt like I would never be able to walk another staircase in my life, but fortunately I found a cure! Massages! I found this place where they do a 4-hands massage, (you get massaged my 2 people at the same time, who synchronise their movements making it feel like its just 1 person doing it (even if there are 4 hands on your body). getting this massage was the best thing I had ever done ... If you someday have the opportunity to do this type of massage .. DO IT! It might be costly, but it is well worth it.

All relaxed and ready to go, we headed out to Chiang Rai on Sunday, where we went to visit the White temple, The Golden Triangle ( the point where 3 countries(Thailand Miamar and Laos) meet which is quite fun).
The trip there took a very long time ( 4 hours to get there and 4 to get back in the evening) but it was well worth it.

Monday I got a call by the english coordinator from the school I'm teaching at to ask me if I had any plans. He invited me to "do something fun" and I gladly accepted since he's a local and knows a shit ton more of whats fun and whats not.

He was very vague about what exactly we were doing, but when I arrived at his place, he had a motorbike waiting for me. He was taking me on a "private tour" to see the beautiful nature surrounding Chiang Mai.

Apparently Thai people measure distances different than we do because the "surrounding area" proved to be a 500 km tour through the mountains( I kid you not, we spent 11 hours driving through the mountains, occasionally stopping for a few minutes to take some photos or enjoy the scenery, but mostly just driving) I may have started to drive my english coordinator a bit crazy after a while, asking him "are we there yet?" every half hour or so ... even though we still had 5 hours to go ( I had no idea we werent going back yet, at that time) :P also, Gas stations here are sometimes very unique! ( see picture)

The pictures below might give you an idea of what I saw, but the pictures really cant do it justice ... I had a mindgasm every other minute or so ... So incredibly beautiful ..(and even more tiring)

Just got back, dead on my feet so going to bed .. but did not want to leave you without your weekly blogpost ;-)

Leave a comment below!

Yours,


Rob

  • 28 Juni 2016 - 09:53

    Marloes:

    Wat een bijzondere ervaring weer! Geniet er nog even van! Straks wacht niene je weer op met een lekker kwijlerige knuffel :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Chiang Mai

Asia!

Lesgeven in Azie

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Juli 2016

Another week, another country

03 Juli 2016

My last week

27 Juni 2016

Are we there yet?

17 Juni 2016

Birthday week!

08 Juni 2016

Thinking some thoughts
Robin

Actief sinds 22 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 384
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14501

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2016 - 31 December 2016

Asia!

Landen bezocht: