Thailand! and my last week on Bali - Reisverslag uit Chiang Mai, Thailand van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu Thailand! and my last week on Bali - Reisverslag uit Chiang Mai, Thailand van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu

Thailand! and my last week on Bali

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robin

19 Mei 2016 | Thailand, Chiang Mai

As usual it has taken me a bit too long to write an update, I guess its the downside of having such a busy life.

My last week in Bali was beautiful, I did not have class anymore, and I had to leave the project, so I went to a beautifull villa/hotel near Seminyak. I had a small villa right in the middle of the ricefields ( see pictures) and it was like I was living in a fairy tale.
I spent my week there resting, visiting Tanah Lot ( a temple which you can only reach at low tide) and another temple ( but I do not know the name unfortunately)

The trip to Thailand was uneventful, besides the fact that I was stuck between two incredibly overweight people, which made it quite uncomfortable XD
I arrived in Thailand about 11 days ago. I spent my first few days in Bangkok, which is an immense city with a whopping 16 million citizens.
The first thing I noticed, compared to Indonesia, is that it is extremely clean.
There is no trash to be found on the streets, everything looks very good.
the second thing I noticed is that it is a lot more developed compared to Indonesia. I spent my first day just walking around the city, I found a mall which was so incredibly big, that I actually got lost inside.
When I came out again, I noticed that not all parts of Bangkok are so developed. The gap between rich and poor is very big. There's people with mazzuratis and porches ( I actually saw a few, driving around in the city, which was pretty cool) and theres people that have to work full days to make sure that their families have something for dinner.
I went out one night, with a local that showed me "backpackers road" a street littered with bars, massage parlors, tattoo artists and hundreds of tiny street vendors ... I had a blast, and had my first look into the Thai culture.

After a few days in Bangkok, I traveled to Chiang Mai (which is in the far north) by night train. The train is going incredibly slow, and stops every 5 minutes, but eventually I made it to Chiang Mai on friday morning ( 6 days ago) Spent the first weekend seeing some cultural highlights (temples mostly).
The project here is a lot more populated than it was on Bali, theres 18 volunteers in my volunteer house, with room for another 6 if the need arises. A few beautiful girls from varying countries around the world took me out to dinner and we had an amazing dinner show pass the time..
To say I had a great time would be a vast understatement.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Chiang Mai

Asia!

Lesgeven in Azie

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Juli 2016

Another week, another country

03 Juli 2016

My last week

27 Juni 2016

Are we there yet?

17 Juni 2016

Birthday week!

08 Juni 2016

Thinking some thoughts
Robin

Actief sinds 22 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 309
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14503

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2016 - 31 December 2016

Asia!

Landen bezocht: