Getting Started - Reisverslag uit Hoogeveen, Nederland van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu Getting Started - Reisverslag uit Hoogeveen, Nederland van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu

Getting Started

Door: Robin Sprakel

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robin

22 Januari 2016 | Nederland, Hoogeveen

Last Saturday I went to Amersfoort to gather some information about Activity International, a company that provides opportunities to work as a volunteer in all parts of the world. I have Always wanted to see the world and this seemed the perfect opportunity to do so. We talked for a long while, weighing the pro's and the con's making sure I knew everything I needed to know to make my decision and then I left for home, my head filled with information.

When I got home I spent my entire weekend googeling everything I needed to know, everything I wanted to see and decided I was actually going to do it. I chose for two projects to start with, with a possible third, just in case I dont feel like going home after the first two.

This week my preparations truly began ... which believe me .. is a LOT of work.

Monday I went to the travel agency to look for flights, went to the bank to get my financials in order, which apparently was not as easy as I thought. I ordered a credit card, since apparently it is the most common way to pay with in south east Asia, next to cash. After that I went to order my passport and that was about all the time I had.

Tuesday, I booked my flight officially, made an appointment for my vaccinations, asked for a VOG (Declaration of good behaviour) an official document stating that i've never been in contact with the police, that im trustworthy and allowed to work with kids and such..
and I started telling some people around me of my plans ...

Wednesday I had to tell my boss that I would be leaving my job, which was not an easy thing to do, since i've worked there almost ten years now ... I had lunch with my father and told him about my plans and contacted my Insurance company, who apparently does not cover my full stay abroad, if I stay longer than 6 months. Which meant I had to find a different Insurance company for my traveling plans!

Thursday, I went back to the bank to tie up some loose ends, told some friends about my plans ( the reactions were very different ... some loved it, some thought it odd, but they all accepted my choice ofcourse)
told my landlord that I would be leaving my house at the start of march and spent the rest of the day worrying about everything that could go wrong. XD

Friday, I had an appointment to get my first vaccine shots, DTP, Typhus, HepA, HepB, information about Knuckle fever, and I got a receipt for Malaria pills... I can basically start my own pharmacy by now...
Now its time for me to tell my lovely dance partner that I will be leaving her behind ... Wish me the best of luck!





  • 25 September 2016 - 16:16

    Hassuin Abdelrahman:


    dear/

    Greetings,
    im looking for any job as avolunteer in hoogeveen becuse i want learn the dutch and im live in AZC hoogeveen

    thaniks

  • 30 September 2016 - 13:18

    Robin:

    Dear Hassuin,

    Thank you for your unexpected email.
    From the top of my head I can think of a couple of companies where they might accept volunteers.
    "Leger des Heils"
    "Humanitas"
    or any elderly home.
    you might also want to try the "cmpagniehuis" which is an offiial government building, they might be able to give you more options.
    If its just dutch you want, feel free to leave me a reply and if I have time, i'd be happy to help you.

    you can contact me at:

    sprakel_robin@hotmail.com

    yours,

    Robin

  • 24 Oktober 2016 - 16:01

    Hassan,Abdelrahman:

    Dear/ Robin

    Greetings,

    i will send email for you.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Hoogeveen

Asia!

Lesgeven in Azie

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Juli 2016

Another week, another country

03 Juli 2016

My last week

27 Juni 2016

Are we there yet?

17 Juni 2016

Birthday week!

08 Juni 2016

Thinking some thoughts
Robin

Actief sinds 22 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 358
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14510

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2016 - 31 December 2016

Asia!

Landen bezocht: