Thinking some thoughts - Reisverslag uit Chiang Mai, Thailand van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu Thinking some thoughts - Reisverslag uit Chiang Mai, Thailand van Robin Sprakel - WaarBenJij.nu

Thinking some thoughts

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robin

08 Juni 2016 | Thailand, Chiang Mai

This week a certain question, or a mindset arose that has kept me occupied for hours. I was wondering how much good I actually do as a teacher here in Thailand. Am I a decent teacher? sure .. do I have enough knowledge? .. I do.
But the teacher that would normally teach these classes is already very good. His pronounciation might not be perfect, but he knows his grammar, he knows how to teach, and can do it a lot better, because he can explain certain things in Thai ( and I obviously can not). In Indonesia, it was obvious that I was "needed" their standards were a lot lower, their english level was not as good, and their curriculum was virtually non-existent.
Here everything is arranged properly, they have proper teachers, books and the know-how to teach them ... I feel superfluous in my current project.
Don't get me wrong, I love teaching here, most students like me, I like them I leave my school with a smile every day and I am really teaching them something ... but nothing that the local teachers could not do themselves ...

what do you think? Thoughts and comments are appreciated!

Rob

  • 08 Juni 2016 - 15:31

    Joel:

    Hey, Rob!

    Perhaps you should take a learning in how to learn like that teacher does the teaching. Otherwise I would say just enjoy that you do it with ease :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Chiang Mai

Asia!

Lesgeven in Azie

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Juli 2016

Another week, another country

03 Juli 2016

My last week

27 Juni 2016

Are we there yet?

17 Juni 2016

Birthday week!

08 Juni 2016

Thinking some thoughts
Robin

Actief sinds 22 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 544
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14496

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2016 - 31 December 2016

Asia!

Landen bezocht: